Youth Advisory Council (YAC)

The YAC ensures that the Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative and U Choose Campaign has a youth voice.

What is the YAC?

The Youth Advisory Council (YAC) started in 2010 to place youth voices at the center of the U Choose campaign. U Choose is dedicated to improving youth sexual health and evidence-based programs promoting youth health and wellness as a part of the B’more for Healthy Babies initiative.


Since its creation, YAC members have met regularly to provide young people’s insights to inform Baltimore City Health Department programs, serve as peer health educators and advocates for their communities, and engage other youth and youth advisory groups to promote the health and wellbeing of Baltimore City’s young people. 

What will I gain as a YAC member?

  • Provide guidance and feedback to the Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative (part of the Baltimore City Health Department, within the Bureau of Maternal and Child Health and the Bureau of HIV/STDs)

  • Engage in professional and leadership development trainings

  • Gain knowledge on healthy relationships and sexual health

  • Become a peer health advocate around reproductive health and STIs

  • Mobilize other young people to raise awareness of the U Choose campaign in neighborhoods with the highest rates of teen pregnancy and STIs

  • Receive a stipend for participation

  • Form lasting relationships with community health leaders in Baltimore City

What do YAC members do?

  • Meet bi-monthly

  • Learn about different health topics affecting teens

  • Provide feedback on campaign messages

  • Plan and conduct outreach activities for youth in the city

  • Develop educational projects and outreach activities

Are you interested in becoming a youth advisor?

Do you fit these criteria?

  • Between 14-20 years old

  • Live in Baltimore City

  • Commit to attend meetings every other Thursday from 4:30pm-5:30pm

  • If under 18, have appropriate parental consent

  • Interested in helping other youth be empowered about their future

  • Able to attend the YAC Orientation on January 23, 2021

If so, complete the application or nominate a young person you know:

© 2016 UChoose

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon


CONTACT US was developed by the Baltimore City Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative with additional information provided by the Association of Reproductive Health ProfessionalsBedsiderThe National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, and Planned Parenthood. All birth control photography is property of and used with permission.

Know What U Want is a project of the Baltimore City Health Department and The Family League of Baltimore with the support of Planned Parenthood of Maryland, The Maryland Institute College of Art, New Lens, The Abell Foundation, The Straus Foundation, The David and Barbara B. Hirschhorn Foundation and The Henry and Ruth Blaustein Rosenberg Foundation.